Na-Not

It wouldn’t be November without a post about Nanowrimo – National Novel Writing Month for the unititated.

You may all thank me now for having spared you the will-I-or-won’t-I pre-Nano angst. All by myself, I decided, sometime in mid-October that “I will!” I started outlines. I brainstormed. I itched to sit down at the keyboard and begin pounding out pages of powerful prose that would some day, one day, become my next great novel.

My last great novel having been my Nano result of 2004. Or maybe 2005, I can’t remember what year it was. But oh! it was great, and I loved it so. I wrote it, then edited it, then shopped it. And shopped it and shopped it.

And stopped shopping before finding an agent or editor who thought it was as great as I did.

Nonetheless. Having tried – and failed – to “cheat” at Nano in a previous year, I was enthusiastically looking forward to 2009 being The Year I Wrote Another Book.

So last Sunday I sat down to write. I wrote approximately 300 words of the story I had thought I wanted to write, wrote another 400 words of a completely different story, and then realized I didn’t want to write that story either.

I had nuthin’.

And then the week went by, and although I did write a 2400 word recap for The Disney Blog and a 900 word proposal for a new publishing project, I did not write another novel-esque word at all, at all.

So, I decided, all by myself, that this year, I won’t. No, it’s not too late, yes, if I really wanted to I could do it, but the reality is…

I got nuthin’.

Not fiction, anyway, not this time.  And I don’t really want to after all.

So best luck to my best buds who are writing their hearts out and racking up the word count. I shall cheer you on from the sidelines and celebrate with you when you cross the finish line.

And P.S. – anyone wanting to comment on my “V” recap at The Disney Blog is heartily encouraged to do so. Comment there too, if you please – and watch for this week’s recap coming Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

