The Things I See

I’ll throw myself on the sword and be the first to mention how long it’s been since I posted here – almost 14 months. Yep, really, that long. Were there reasons? Excuses? Barriers to producing prose on this page? Sure there were. But it helps no one, least of all me, to even begin to list them.

What really matters, I suppose, is this realization:

I didn’t stop writing on purpose. However, if I don’t start again on purpose, it may never happen. So here I am, starting on purpose.

Several months ago, a friend and I whiled away a chilly Sunday afternoon in my office making Vision Boards. It was my idea; I’d read, in many places, about how useful/therapeutic/uplifting/invigorating it could be, and I decided we could both use some uplifting, invigorating therapy. Or at least I could, and I wanted company. So we spent a week or so gathering pictures from magazines and such, and I invested in a few cork boards, dug out the glue sticks, and then, on that Sunday, we sat on the floor in my office like teenagers and cut and pasted our vision for the year to come.

My goal for this project was to choose images and words that projected a few ideas:

  • Who am I? Who do I want to be?
  • What is important to me now, and in the year to come?

So this was the end result:

 I will confess, the finished project languished in my office closet for a while, but eventually I got it onto the wall, where it serves as a daily reminder and inspiration. Has it made a difference? Hard to say: I know it’s there, and I stare at it for a while, every now and then, when I’m feeling a little untethered.

I’ve been saying to myself often lately that, “I will blog today.” And finally, today I have. The journey, as they say, starts with a single step. Perhaps, finally, I’m on the road to writing again.

3 Responses to “The Things I See”

  1. Eva Says:

    Onward and upward!

  2. Heather Atton Cook Says:

    Hey! Glad to see you back here… keep it up :)

  3. lolabees Says:

    Good for you for getting back in the game! I made a vision board a few years ago, and I loved doing it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

