The grass on this side of the fence isn’t any less green, it’s just different.

1996

1996

2008

2008

Robert Fulghum (he of All I Need To Know I Learned In Kindergarten fame) said:

Live a balanced life – learn some and think some and draw and paint and sing and dance and play and work every day some.”

Today I did some of those things a little, some of those things a lot, and some of those things not at all. It’s hard, sometimes, to manage to fit it all in. But there are always clear signs that let me know I’m out of balance. Trouble sleeping. Restlessness. An ache in my back. A crease in my forehead. Dis-satisfaction with my productivity levels. Balance is more than important – it’s vital.

Tomorrow is another day, and I’ll try a little harder at the things I missed.

The 1996 version of the photos came about after a whiny plea at Walt Disney World in 1996: “Please, can we just run on that grass over there for a few minutes?” The shot was totally spontaneous.

The 2008 version is the same patch of grass and was also the result of a whiny plea, this time my own: “Just go run on the damn grass so I can take the picture, already! Run toward me. Ok, try it again, only smile this time. Nope, one more time. Oh, for Pete’s sake…”

One Response to “The grass on this side of the fence isn’t any less green, it’s just different.”

  1. theresthisbench Says:

    Needs to be mentioned that I travel in a wheelchair and she made me get up and take this picture.

Leave a Reply

