Cornucopia

I was looking out the kitchen window this morning and noticed – really noticed – that some time in the last week or so, Autumn has really set in.  From that angle, at least, I can’t see any green on the trees, though Next Door’s roses are still blooming. And of course, the whole reason for looking out the window was actually looking AT the window, wondering if it was open a smidge because it’s so darn cold in here!

And no, the heat’s not going on yet – baseball season isn’t even over yet! Every time I shiver, I remind myself of the multiple winters that KIm Hoelzli made it without heat until well into December, a result of the perpetual construction around her place.  There’s no construction currently happening here, but with the cost of heat these days, it’s far too early to turn on the furnace.

This weekend, I’d like to clean up the office, clean out the front hall closet and dust. I also thought I’d like to rearrange the furniture. This burst of domesticity has more to do with the fact that it’s Production Week than anything else.

Girl and The Knee are having their first set of outings today. I’m glad for that, but can’t help being nervous. Is there anything so painful as seeing your child in pain? If there is, I don’t think I want to know about it.

Time to get ready for the day – the schedule demands I wear grown-up clothes for at least part of it. I might go whole hog and put on eyeliner too. Stranger things have happened.

One Response to “Cornucopia”

  1. Keith Wilson Says:

    Uh, no cleaning or dusting this week, production week…
    We must produce colour and verbage, artwork and advise.
    Not dust bunnies.
    Clean later.
    You can always attach a very long swiffer duster to hop-along and have her spin her chair around in the middle of the living room.

Leave a Reply

