Copycat

You’ve gotta admire a girl who’s raising four kids, teaching full time, has a hubby who’s out of town andstill finds time to blog some gratitude early on a March morning. So, rather than whine, “But there’s nothing to write aboutttt…” I’ll follow her lead and share some thankfulness this morning.

Today, I am thankful for…

1. The Man, who spent two sleepless nights holding the Little One’s hair back, and then mine, whilst we endured an out-of-nowhere stomach bug. And in between, he did five loads of laundry. Including folding.

2. My work. It’s fun, it’s fulfilling, and it keeps a roof over our heads and shoes on our feet.

3. My parents. Individual and unique, they are both there for me when I need them to bring me popsicles and ginger ale. Plus, they do other stuff too.

4. 400-thread count sheets. Nothing feels as good, after a bout of sickness, to crawl into a freshly made bed, prop up on some pillows and just fade into oblivion.

5. Erma Bombeck. Re-reading some of her humour these last few days, I am starting to remember that there is laughter to be found in everything, if you just look hard enough.

6. ABC/Disney/Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof. Their creative genius inspires me, and also gives me at least one TV show to look forward to every week. Also, something that 5/6 of the family can get excited about together.

7. Socialized medicine. Though we may joke about having a personalized parking spot outside of the ER, it’s awfully comforting to know we’ll never utter the words, “I can’t afford to see a doctor.”

8. March. The winter is on its last legs, the sun is mostly shining, and spring isn’t far behind.

2 Responses to “Copycat”

  1. Linda Sherwood Says:

    Another thing I’m thankful for: She blogged.

    I’m sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well — Maxine stayed home sick today after throwing up.

    She called me at one point to know if she could eat my garlic-flavored pretzels. Um. NO! LOL She still isn’t feeling good, but the pretzels SOUNDED good.

  2. Angelica Says:

    There needs to be a show I’d actually like. And then 6/6 could watch it.

Leave a Reply

