On my own two feet

Well, I did it. I cancelled my car insurance. In a little less than a month from now, on my 38th birthday, I will become a pedestrian.

I’d already been considering giving up the car on that date.  Forking over the cash for plate renewal, e-test and a few unpaid parking tickets was hard to imagine, for a vehicle that has a better than half chance of giving up the ghost by Christmas anyway. And quite frankly, a newer vehicle isn’t in the cards for a while.

And then yesterday, I got my insurance renewal notice, which featured an increase of $500 a year. I have a 22-year, spotless driving record, and my car insurance on a ten-year-old minivan was going to be more than it was when I was 16 years old.

I called the insurance company and was basically told there was nothing they could do. The drivers of Ontario, apparently, are an accident-prone bunch, and so rates were going up up up.

I work from home, in the middle of the city. The “kids” are mostly adults, who I’m not technically obligated to chauffeur around (though it’s nice to sometimes) except for the 12-year-old. She gets the school bus. The church is three blocks away. The grocery store is a moderate walk and a $10 cab ride home. And although the mass transit system here isn’t perfect, it’s workable.

So in the interest of saving an estimated $400 a month (insurance, gas, etc.) I’m putting the keys away and lacing up my walking shoes.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not anti-car. I love having a car, hassles aside. I love the convenience and the freedom that comes from having a car. But I can take a lot of taxis for $400 a month.

I’m a little nervous, but I’m looking at this as a wonderful opportunity to try something different. I’ll have to be a little better organized, think ahead a little more often, but, you know, that can’t hurt, right?

Plus, it fits in with our recent shift to try, where we can, to be a little more ecologically responsible. You know, growing some of our own food, not running the air conditioners, etc.

Wish me luck!

One Response to “On my own two feet”

  1. Kim Says:

    I know where Keith’s keys are kept..just in case you might need them.

Leave a Reply

