I take my learnin’ where I find it

Because of Joshilyn Jackson, I am an educated woman. I just clicked over to the daily newspaper’s Web site, as I am wont to do several times a day, and lo, look what has arrived in the Great White North:

Devastating find: Rampaging Vine Is Here

LEAMINGTON – The fast-growing kudzu vine, dubbed “the vine that ate the South” has been found in Leamington. Read more…

And I said to myself, “I know what that is! Joss has that! Joss writes about that! It hides dead bodies, even!”

I have myself a little celebrity/internet crush on Joshilyn. Much like the one I have on Lani. See, we belong(ed?) to the same writers’ email list, I stalk her blog, I refer readers to her books with a lofty, “this writer I know, she’s good.” Except I don’t actually know her, except from afar. She joined Momwriters back in the day when Gods in Alabama was about to come out, and I’ve been a fan ever since.  But because Kira met her in real life (I think?) and I met Kira in real life, well, you know how it goes…I’d like to know her. I’d like to think myself her peer. Even though I’m not. ‘Cause she’s brill.

Because of Joss, I often find myself calculating my Mental Illness Number. And Capitalizing. And although I never would have known what to call it, I have a Little Pink Sock Drawer of my own. And now I have kudzu in my backyard! (or at least in my county)

It’s entirely possible that I’m not a well woman.

See, I just said “we have kudzu!” to the Man, and he glared at me. He then gave me the 30-second version of the history of kudzu in North America, scared the bejeezus out of one of the kids, and left me thinking I may have to spend next summer personally guarding his tomato plants from the kudzu.

So kudzu’s a pretty bad thing. Bad bad bad. But Joss is a really good writer, and also, since I read her, I knew what kudzu was. Who says you can’t learn valuable information reading fiction?

**

I have not mentioned the tomato plants, have I? There are tomato plants. The Man has had some sort of inner awakening that involves returning to the traditions of generations gone by, even though his generations gone by were ironmongers. He planted, and he harvested, and he canned, and I’ve eaten more vegetables this summer than I have in my life. Fresh.

Now he’s talking chickens. Four chickens, he says, will give us enough eggs for a year. And then…well, let’s just say the kids were all on board with the eggs, not so much with the “and then.” If permitted to name the chickens, we will call them Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Snack.

This is only if the city decides to permit this Urban Chicken movement to cluck its way into the city limits. Although the argument goes that since we already have skunks, raccoons, rabbits and the odd (very odd) possum wandering the alleys, why not let people keep chickens?

We celebrated 20 years of marriage last week, and the man continues to manage to surprise me. It’s invigorating.  As is the homemade salsa he canned.

5 Responses to “I take my learnin’ where I find it”

  1. Lisa Says:

    So, let’s see…since I’ve met *you*, and you’ve met Kira who has met Joss, that puts me only three degrees of separation from Joss! Wow! That’s exciting since I’ve been admiring her from afar for a long time, too. These connection things always amaze me, like the time I realized that there are only three degrees of separation between me and both C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. Doens’t really seem possible!

  2. Linda Sherwood Says:

    You both are only two degrees separated from Joss! I met her, and I’ve met both of you. I even ate breakfast with her in New York City! And I have photgraphic proof. I have not, sadly, met Kira.

    Look at how many exclamation points I used! I love me some Joshilyn. I frequently read excerpts of her blogs in my classroom because she has such lively descriptions. I’ve used her post about “pooping trees,” her post about blogging and most recently, her post about editing.

  3. Kira Says:

    I want chickens, but both my husband and my local city council disagree. Big ol’ poop heads.

  4. Kira Says:

    And I think both you and Linda should come visit. We would go out for dinner and, I suspect, laugh a lot.

Leave a Reply

